Home Contents Contribute your experiences Experiences of this hexagram in divination More I Ching resources

51. Chên / The Arousing (Shock, Thunder)

--- ---
--- --- above Chên The Arousing, Thunder
--- ---
--- --- below Chên The Arousing, Thunder

The Judgement

Shock brings success.
Shock comes--oh, oh!
Laughing words--ha, ha!
The shock terrifies for a hundred miles,
And he does not let fall the sacrificial spoon and chalice.

The Image

Thunder repeated: the image of Shock.
Thus in fear and trembling
The superior man sets his life in order
And examines himself.

The Lines

Change at the beginning means:
Shock comes--oh, oh!
Then follow laughing words--ha, ha!
Good fortune.
Change in the second place means:
Shock comes bringing danger.
A hundred thousand times
You lose your treasures
And must climb the Change hills.
Do not go in pursuit of them.
After seven days you will get them back.
Change in the third place means:
Shock comes and makes one distraught.
If shock spurs to action
One remains free of misfortune.
Change in the fourth place means:
Shock is mired.
Change in the fifth place means:
Shock goes hither and thither.
However, nothing at all is lost.
Yet there are things to be done.
Change at the top means:
Shock brings ruin and terrified gazing around.
Going ahead brings misfortune.
If is has not yet touched one's own body
But has reached one's neighbor first,
There is no blame.
One's comrades have something to talk about.